NCID 2016 Awards

NCID 2016 Awards

July 26, 2016

During this past 2016 National Cancer Institute Directors meeting in Lyon, France, iPRI and WPA President Professor Peter Boyle was proud to present three awards for outstanding service to the fight against cancer worldwide.

(Left to Right) David Zaridze, Peter Boyle, David Byrne, Pat Loehrer

(Left to Right) David Zaridze, Peter Boyle, David Byrne, Pat Loehrer

David Byrne

David Byrne, a former practising Barrister, was appointed as the first European Commissioner for Health and Consumer Protection in 1999, having previously served as the Attorney General of Ireland. Following his retirement from the Commission, he was appointed as Special Envoy of the World Health Organization (WHO) for the adoption of the International Health Regulations (IHR).  Currently he is the Chair of the European Alliance for Personalised Medicine (EAPM) and is a member of the Council of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland.  He also serves as the Chair of the International Ethics Committee of iPRI.

Patrick J. Loehrer

Patrick Loehrer is director of the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center and the H.H. Gregg Professor of Oncology and associate dean for cancer research at the Indiana University School of Medicine. Recognized as a prolific clinical researcher, Dr. Loehrer is a specialist in a variety of cancers, including cancers of the testis, bladder, colon, pancreas and, most notably, the thymus gland.

David Zaridze

David Zaridze was initially trained as pathologist, he has pursued a second career in epidemiology of chronic diseases. He worked in Oxford University with Professor Richard Doll in 1977-78. From 1979 to 1985 he was working in the International Agency for Research on Cancer in Lyon, France. In 1986-2006 he held the position of a Director of the Institute of Carcinogenesis of Russian N. N. Blokhin Cancer Research Centre. Presently he is a Deputy Director of the same Centre and President of the Russian Cancer Society. In 2011 he received a title of Visiting Professor of Oxford University. Since 2014 he is serving as a scientific coordinator for Eurasian region of the European School of Oncology (ESO).

Latest News

Latest Posts

Quick Contact

Please enter your name.
Please enter a message.